Southern Illinois Hunting and Trapping Violations

Let Lawler Brown Help You

The Illinois Department of Natural Resources is responsible for enforcing the various laws and regulations surrounding hunting and trapping in Illinois. For the most up-to-date information please click here. Listed below, you will find the most common offenses and the number points assessed upon a finding of guilt for each offense. This information came from the Illinois Department of Natural Resources website regarding state regulations that went into effect August 14, 2007. This listing is only intended as a guide as the regulations are subject to change on an annual basis.

POINT SYSTEM
Each time a person is found guilty by a circuit court of the State of Illinois (including supervision or conditional discharge) or by a U.S. District Court in an Illinois District, the specific number of points assigned to such violation shall be charged against that person. The point system itself applies to revocations or suspensions authorized under the following conservation laws:

  • Fish and Aquatic Life Code (515 ILCS 5)
  • Wildlife Code (520 ILCS 5)
  • Endangered Species Protection Act (520 ILCS 10)
  • Timber Buyers Licensing Act (225 ILCS 735)
  • Ginseng Harvesting Act (525 ILCS 20)
POINT KEY
  • P = Petty Offense (3 pts.)
  • C = Class C Misdemeanor (6 pts.)
  • B =Class B Misdemeanor (9 pts.)
  • A = Class A Misdemeanor (12 pts.)
  • 4F = Class 4 Felony (24 pts.)
  • 3F = Class 3 Felony (60 pts.)
  • Business Offense (3 pts.)
  • Any violation during a period of suspension – 60 pts.

Groups

Type I Offenses: Those offenses related to commercial/business activities covered under the Timber Buyer, Taxidermist, Aquaculture, Aquatic Life Dealer, Minnow Dealer, Mussel Dealer, Commercial Roe Dealer, Commercial Fisherman, Commercial Musselor, Commercial Roe Harvester, Game and Game Bird Breeder, Wild Game Food Dealer, Fur Bearing Animal Breeder, Fur Tanner or Migratory Waterfowl Hunting Area licenses and permits Type II Offenses: All other offenses related to activities covered under licenses and permits. (Example: hunting, trapping, fishing, etc.)

How Suspension Period is Computed

For Type I Offenses, any person who, within an 18 month period, accumulates 13 or more points in a single group shall have all licenses, permits and stamps relevant to those types of activities revoked, and the person’s privilege to engage in Type I activities shall be suspended for a period of time that equals one month for each point accumulated. All accumulated points shall remain in effect for 18 months from the date of arrest that resulted in the point accumulation and shall not be removed or reduced by a period of suspension. Any second or subsequent suspension imposed shall be served consecutively to any earlier suspension.

For Type II Offenses, any person who, within a 36 month period, accumulates 13 or more points in a single group shall have all licenses, permits and stamps relevant to that type and group revoked, and the person’s privilege to engage in the activity covered by the type and group shall be suspended for a period of time that equals one month for each point accumulated. All accumulated points shall remain in effect for 36 months from the date of arrest that resulted in the point accumulation and shall not be removed or reduced by a period of suspension. Any second or subsequent suspension imposed shall be served consecutively to any earlier suspension.

Single Incident Rule

In the event that multiple findings of guilt are entered against an individual arising out of a single incident or act, full points shall be assessed only for the finding of guilt with the highest point level with additional points being assessed for the remaining findings of guilt as follows:

  • Petty Offense = 1 point
  • Class C Misdemeanor = 2 points
  • Class B Misdemeanor = 3 points

The Single Incident Rule shall not be applied in any cases where the highest level violation is a Class A Misdemeanor or higher (12 points or greater) or in cases where violations occurred while the individual was suspended.

Contact The Defense Attorneys At Lawler Brown

The State of Illinois treats all hunting violations as very serious matters. At Lawler Brown we understand that our legal representation must tailor to your specific life situation. You should feel confident in knowing you hired the right Defense Attorney to best represent your specific needs. No attorney can guarantee the outcome of a case. But rest assured, I will fight to ensure the best possible resolution in your case. Contact our office today for a FREE consultation.

Lawler Brown has offices in Williamson County and Gallatin County to better serve ALL of southern Illinois.

Have questions? We can help!

Would you like to get in touch with us? Please fill out the short form below and we’ll contact you in a manner and at a time of your convenience.

Learn how our knowledge and experience can protect your business interests.

To learn more about our individualized services, click any of the following:

Mineral Rights in Oil and Gas: What You Need to Know

The traditional conception of real property ownership was that a landowner owned his plot of land along with a column of dirt down to the center of the earth and a column of air up to the sky. This conception no longer holds true. It is now common, especially in Southern Illinois, that when one purchases a piece of real property, the purchaser obtains title to the surface of the land, but not the column of dirt beneath it. Very often, the mineral rights to a piece of property have been severed, and the owner of the mineral rights has the authority to mine them. When mineral rights are severed in the conveyance of a piece of property, the severance creates two distinct and separate interests in the land—a surface estate and a mineral estate, either of which can be conveyed, devised, or leased. When this occurs, the owner of the surface estate is subservient to the owner of the mineral estate. This means that he may not interfere with the activities reasonably necessary to extract the minerals from underneath his land. While title to metallic minerals vests2 at the time of conveyance, title to oil and gas does not, due to the tendency of these types of minerals to move around under the earth. Rather, mineral rights in oil and gas do not vest until they are actually discovered. Thus, mineral rights to oil and gas are better conceived of as rights to exploration and, very often, they are mined pursuant to a mineral lease rather than outright ownership. These leases are subject to the same rules as... read more

When Can Your Neighbors Legally Take Your Land?

When Can Your Neighbors Legally Take Your Land? There is a concept in real estate law that is little known outside the legal world, whereby a trespasser can gain legal title to someone else’s land. The “trespasser” in these cases is usually a neighbor but, nonetheless, someone who does not own your property can become the legal owner by his use of it through a concept known as adverse possession. Claims of adverse possession are creatures of common law in Illinois, and require a showing of several elements. In order to legally take title to land, a person’s use and possession of the land must be: Hostile (against the right of the true owner and without permission) Actual (he or she exercises physical control over the property) Exclusive (In the possession of the trespasser alone and no one else) Open and notorious (the trespasser must use the property as the true owner would without hiding the occupancy) Continuous for a period of 20 years Adverse possession claims are especially common in rural areas (like most of Southern Illinois) as opposed to towns and cities because it is often more difficult to determine where one piece of property ends and another begins. Example of Adverse Possession Let’s take a look at how a hypothetical adverse possession case might play out. Assume there are two property owners—the Smiths and the Joneses—who own neighboring farms. Mr. Smith erects a barn that he believes is on his property, but is actually 15 feet over the property line on the Jones’s farm. Mr. Jones says nothing about this, and Mr. Smith uses this barn as... read more

Why You Should Never Resist Arrest

Resisting arrest is very common and occurs any time a person interferes with or obstructs an officer’s attempt to make a legal arrest. In Illinois, it is usually charged as a misdemeanor. However, if there is an injury to the arresting officer, the offense rises to a felony. The charge of resisting arrest is defined at 720 ILCS 5/31-1:1 “A person commits the crime of resisting arrest if they knowingly resist or obstruct the performance by a peace officer, firefighter, or correctional institution employee of any authorized act within his or her official capacity.” While the most classic examples of resisting arrest are fleeing from the scene or engaging the arresting officer physically, the statute is worded broadly and encompasses a wide variety of behaviors. For example, you can be arrested simply for refusing to put your hands behind your back, refusing to lay on the ground, refusing to put your hands on the squad car, or refusing to clear the scene of a crime when ordered to do so. Resisting arrest is also a difficult charge to escape; even if the underlying charge against the defendant is dropped, resisting arrest is an independent charge and will remain. Thus, it is not a defense to resisting arrest that the underlying charge was dismissed. Further, a conviction for resisting arrest can even lengthen a person’s sentence if they are ever convicted of a future offense. Possible punishment for resisting arrest is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois and is punishable by up to one year in prison and up to a $2,500 fine. If the police officer is injured during the incident,... read more