Aggravated Battery

The controlling Illinois Statute is 720 ILCS 5/12-4(a) which provides in part:
“A person commits aggravated battery when, in committing a battery:

  1. Use of a deadly weapon
  2. Are hooded, robed or masked, in such manner as to conceal their identity
  3. Know the individual harmed to be a teacher or other person employed in any school and such teacher or other employee is on school property
  4. Know the individual harmed to be a community policing volunteer while such volunteer is engaged in the execution of any official duties, or to prevent the volunteer from performing official duties, or in retaliation for the volunteer performing official duties, and the battery is committed other than by the discharge of a firearm;
  5. Know the individual harmed to be an emergency medical technician who is at work
  6. Is, or the person battered is, on or about a public way, public property or public place of accommodation or amusement
  7. Is, or the person battered is, on a publicly or privately owned sports or entertainment arena, stadium, community or convention hall the day of an event
  8. Know the individual harmed to be the driver or passenger of public transportation
  9. Know the individual harmed to be an individual of 60 years of age or older
  10. Know the individual harmed is pregnant
  11. Knows the individual harmed to be a judge whom the person intended to harm as a result of the judge’s performance of his or her official duties as a judge
  12. Knows the individual harmed to be a person who is physically handicapped
  13. Causes bodily harm to a merchant who detains the person for an alleged commission of retail theft
  14. Is, or the person battered is, in any building used as a domestic violence shelter
  15. Knows the individual harmed to be an officer or employee of the State of Illinois
  16. Knows the individual harmed to be an emergency management worker engaged in the performance of any of his or her official duties
  17. Knows the individual harmed to be a private security officer who is at work
  18. Knows the individual harmed to be a taxi driver and the battery is committed while the taxi driver is on duty
  19. Knows the individual harmed to be a utility worker who is on duty.

Penalties for Aggravated Battery in Illinois

Aggravated battery in Illinois is a Class 3 felony if the alleged victim is not a police officer, firefighter, or correctional officer. A Class 3 felony is punishable by 1 to 3 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections; up to 30 months probation or conditional discharge; and/or fines up to $25,000.00.

Aggravated battery in Illinois is a Class 2 felony if the alleged victim is a police officer, a firefighter, or correctional officer. A Class 2 felony is punishable by 2 to 5 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections; up to 48 months probation or conditional discharge and/or up to a $25,000.00 fine.

Aggravated battery in Illinois is a Class 1 felony if the alleged victim is a police officer, firefighter, or correctional officer and suffers great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement. A Class 2 Felony is punishable by 2 to 5 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections; up to 48 months probation or conditional discharge; and/or up to a $25,000.00 fine.

Contact Defense Attorney David W. Lawler

The State of Illinois treats all aggravated battery offenses as very serious matters. At the Lawler Brown Law Firm we understand that our legal representation must tailor to your specific life situation. You should feel confident in knowing you hired the right Defense Attorney to best represent your specific needs. No attorney can guarantee the outcome of a case. But rest assured, I will fight to ensure the best possible resolution in your case. Contact our office today for a FREE consultation.

The Lawler Brown Law Firm has offices in Williamson County and Gallatin County to better serve ALL of southern Illinois.

Have questions? We can help!

Would you like to get in touch with us? Please fill out the short form below and we’ll contact you in a manner and at a time of your convenience.

Learn how our knowledge and experience can protect your business interests.

To learn more about our individualized services, click any of the following:

Mineral Rights in Oil and Gas: What You Need to Know

The traditional conception of real property ownership was that a landowner owned his plot of land along with a column of dirt down to the center of the earth and a column of air up to the sky. This conception no longer holds true. It is now common, especially in Southern Illinois, that when one purchases a piece of real property, the purchaser obtains title to the surface of the land, but not the column of dirt beneath it. Very often, the mineral rights to a piece of property have been severed, and the owner of the mineral rights has the authority to mine them. When mineral rights are severed in the conveyance of a piece of property, the severance creates two distinct and separate interests in the land—a surface estate and a mineral estate, either of which can be conveyed, devised, or leased. When this occurs, the owner of the surface estate is subservient to the owner of the mineral estate. This means that he may not interfere with the activities reasonably necessary to extract the minerals from underneath his land. While title to metallic minerals vests2 at the time of conveyance, title to oil and gas does not, due to the tendency of these types of minerals to move around under the earth. Rather, mineral rights in oil and gas do not vest until they are actually discovered. Thus, mineral rights to oil and gas are better conceived of as rights to exploration and, very often, they are mined pursuant to a mineral lease rather than outright ownership. These leases are subject to the same rules as...

When Can Your Neighbors Legally Take Your Land?

When Can Your Neighbors Legally Take Your Land? There is a concept in real estate law that is little known outside the legal world, whereby a trespasser can gain legal title to someone else’s land. The “trespasser” in these cases is usually a neighbor but, nonetheless, someone who does not own your property can become the legal owner by his use of it through a concept known as adverse possession. Claims of adverse possession are creatures of common law in Illinois, and require a showing of several elements. In order to legally take title to land, a person’s use and possession of the land must be: Hostile (against the right of the true owner and without permission) Actual (he or she exercises physical control over the property) Exclusive (In the possession of the trespasser alone and no one else) Open and notorious (the trespasser must use the property as the true owner would without hiding the occupancy) Continuous for a period of 20 years Adverse possession claims are especially common in rural areas (like most of Southern Illinois) as opposed to towns and cities because it is often more difficult to determine where one piece of property ends and another begins. Example of Adverse Possession Let’s take a look at how a hypothetical adverse possession case might play out. Assume there are two property owners—the Smiths and the Joneses—who own neighboring farms. Mr. Smith erects a barn that he believes is on his property, but is actually 15 feet over the property line on the Jones’s farm. Mr. Jones says nothing about this, and Mr. Smith uses this barn as...

Why You Should Never Resist Arrest

Resisting arrest is very common and occurs any time a person interferes with or obstructs an officer’s attempt to make a legal arrest. In Illinois, it is usually charged as a misdemeanor. However, if there is an injury to the arresting officer, the offense rises to a felony. The charge of resisting arrest is defined at 720 ILCS 5/31-1:1 “A person commits the crime of resisting arrest if they knowingly resist or obstruct the performance by a peace officer, firefighter, or correctional institution employee of any authorized act within his or her official capacity.” While the most classic examples of resisting arrest are fleeing from the scene or engaging the arresting officer physically, the statute is worded broadly and encompasses a wide variety of behaviors. For example, you can be arrested simply for refusing to put your hands behind your back, refusing to lay on the ground, refusing to put your hands on the squad car, or refusing to clear the scene of a crime when ordered to do so. Resisting arrest is also a difficult charge to escape; even if the underlying charge against the defendant is dropped, resisting arrest is an independent charge and will remain. Thus, it is not a defense to resisting arrest that the underlying charge was dismissed. Further, a conviction for resisting arrest can even lengthen a person’s sentence if they are ever convicted of a future offense. Possible punishment for resisting arrest is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois and is punishable by up to one year in prison and up to a $2,500 fine. If the police officer is injured during the incident,...