Overweight Commercial Driver’s License Tickets

CDL Tickets in the State of Illinois.

The controlling Illinois Statute governing fines depends upon schedule as defined is 625 ILCS 5/15-113, which says you shall be fined according to the following schedule (as of 2012).

  • Up to and including 2,000 pounds overweight, the fine is $100
  • From 2001 to 2500 pounds overweight, the fine is $270
  • From 2501 to 3000 pounds overweight, the fine is $330
  • From 3001 to 3500 pounds overweight, the fine is $520
  • From 3501 to 4000 pounds overweight, the fine is $600
  • From 4001 to 4500 pounds overweight, the fine is $850
  • From 4501 to 5000 pounds overweight, the fine is $950
  • From 5001 or more pounds overweight, the fine shall be computed by assessing $1500 for the first 5000 pounds overweight and $150 for each additional increment of 500 pounds overweight or fraction thereof.

Illinois Law pays special attention to truck weight limits. When a truck driver is issued a citation for violation of the Illinois Commercial Driver’s License Statute, the driver faces financial and driving penalties. If you have been issued an Overweight Citation, you should contact an attorney at Lawler Brown Law Firm to advocate on your behalf to control the fine you pay and help you retain your CDL.

Overweight tickets in Illinois can be issued both at stationary weigh stations or portable scales. Illinois truckers may be ticketed for failing to properly flag a wide load, operating a truck that is overweight on one axle, operating a truck that is grossly overweight for the permit carried, or operating a truck that exceeds the weight limit for a particular stretch of highway. An overweight truck lawyer from Lawler Brown Law Firm may substantially reduce the fines that are paid for these violations.

 

Penalties


An overweight trucking ticket may result in large fines and it may lead to the suspension or loss of a driver’s commercial driver’s license (CDL). Fines in overweight trucking matters are calculated by the amount the cited truck exceeded the statutory weight.

Contact Defense Attorney David W. Lawler

Overweight Traffic Tickets can jeopardize your job if you are a CDL holder. You must be able to drive, not only for your sake, but to provide for those whom depend on you. As a former prosecutor for the Williamson County State’s Attorney and as a traffic defense attorney, I will attempt to reduce the high fines and the possible suspension of your CDL.  If you have been charged with an Overweight Ticket, contact my office today and I will advise you of all your options. I appreciate the importance of a Valid Commercial Driver’s License and I will use my knowledge and experience to achieve the best outcome in your case.

Have questions? We can help!

Would you like to get in touch with us? Please fill out the short form below and we’ll contact you in a manner and at a time of your convenience.

Learn how our knowledge and experience can protect your business interests.

To learn more about our individualized services, click any of the following:

What to do if Your Spouse Files an Order of Protection

Spouses can accuse each other of abuse for a variety of reasons. Maybe they are planning divorce and want to gain an upper hand in custody matters and other issues in the divorce proceedings. Perhaps they have themselves been abusive and want to deflect from their own actions. Whatever the reason, if your spouse files an order of protection against you, it is critical to take immediate action. An order of protection may do the following: Force you to stay away from your home Keep you from seeing your spouse or children Give up any guns that you own While an emergency order may go into effect, you will have the opportunity to appear at a hearing to defend against an extended order being granted. It is critical to have the assistance of a highly experienced defense attorney who understands how orders of protection cases work in Illinois. In addition, order of protection cases may also be accompanied by criminal charges for domestic violence and you want a lawyer who can handle both of your cases with skill. Domestic violence charges can result in the following consequences and more: Time in jail Probation Fines Extended order of protection Limitations on your professional options At your hearing, your attorney can provide evidence in your defense that an order of protection is not warranted and can help you avoid the restrictions on your life that an order of protection would create. If the order is granted, your lawyer can help to negotiate for less stringent terms of the order. Contact a Southern Illinois Criminal Defense Attorney as Soon as Possible Facing... read more

Concussions and Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE)

While a concussion is considered to be a mild form of traumatic brain injury (TBI), one concussion can increase your chances of suffering additional concussions in the future. Sustaining multiple concussions in your life can then have long-term effects, including early-onset dementia, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, and other degenerative cognitive disorders. One particularly concerning effect of multiple concussions is a condition called chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE). CTE refers to the degeneration of brain tissue caused by repeated head trauma. The symptoms of CTE can be very severe and include the following: -Cognitive difficulties -Lack of emotional control -Aggression -Physical impairments -Sensory problems -Dementia -Suicidal thinking or behavior As of now, the only way to diagnose CTE is to examine the brain in sections, which can only happen after death. CTE is commonly diagnosed in autopsies, especially in athletes who played contact sports such as football or hockey. Unfortunately, many of those players commit suicide due to the symptoms of undiagnosed CTE. Anyone who has suffered multiple concussions or head traumas should be aware of the symptoms of CTE and should discuss any symptoms with a medical professional. If you require treatment for your symptoms, you may be entitled to compensation for the costs of treatment and your suffering. If you had a family member who was diagnosed with CTE after death, you may have the right to file a wrongful death lawsuit against a sports league or another party who was responsible for the multiple concussions. Call for a Free Consultation with an Experienced Southern Illinois Concussion Lawyer If you have suffered a concussion in a motor vehicle accident, fall, sports... read more

Penalties for Hunting Violations in Illinois

Hunting, fishing, and trapping are highly regulated by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources (“DNR”).1 The DNR has over 160 conservation police officers (“CPOs”) patrolling the state enforcing these regulations. Illinois Law Hunting, fishing, and trapping are extremely regulated by Illinois law. There are over 75 laws and regulations that specifically restrict hunting and trapping. There are also federal regulations that restrict hunting activity within Illinois as well. While the law restricting hunting activity is complicated, ignorance of the law will not protect you from the penalties that come along with breaking these laws. Be sure to review all of the relevant regulations before heading out for a day of hunting or fishing to avoid finding yourself face to face with a CPO. The most common violations include permit violations, license violations, site violations, hunting too close to another and trespassing. Penalties The punishment for most violations is simply a ticket. Tickets come with fines, court costs, and attorney fees, which can really add up. In addition to the financial cost of the ticket, convictions of game law offenses can count against your record with the DNR.2 Just as tickets for traffic infractions can result in points against your driver’s license, the DNR keeps a record of points against your hunting and/or fishing license. Too many infractions can result in the suspension or loss of your ability to hunt. If a sportsman accrues 13 points over three years, they face suspension of his or her license for up to three years. As a general rule: Petty Offense = 3 Points Class C Offense = 6 Points Class B Offense... read more